NaNoWriMo Day 13 (and some real life talk)

Yesterday (still kinda today for me because I haven’t slept yet), I went online to see a post saying that Stan Lee had passed away. At first I thought it was a joke, I had seen the posts talking about how we’d one day watch a Marvel movie and try to figure out what was missing only to realize it was Stan Lee’s cameo and other mistaken posts in the past, so I didn’t think to much into it. I did look it up though, and to my, and everyones, sadness, it was true. I knew it had to happen soon, but I think we all thought he was immortal, just like some of the superheroes.

Stan Lee was a hero who created heroes. He helped make Marvel, and in turn the comic book world, what it is today. I know I read that you had already filmed some future cameos and I know it will hurt many people all over to see them.

Some of my earliest memories are filled with my brother and I watching the Spiderman movies (Every remake is better, but I still get pissed when I see they’re making a new one because I grew up with Tobey Maguire) and reading free comics (mainly Fantastic Four and Spiderman. I don’t know why but my brother seemed to get free copies of them randomly? And then I borrowed them when I was older). It took a while for me to break into the MCU, but once I did, I never regretted anything.


I feel like there’s no really way to transfer from something so sad, to something so normal. I’m sorry about this post. I’m just gonna dive into the normal stuff.

As you can pretty much already tell, this is really not a NaNo post. I just have some things I need to get out there, for my own sake. I mean, I’ll mention it in here because it’s pretty much my life at the moment (still trying to catch up from my little break the other day, but definitely doing much better than I was before tbh. I think I’m like only 2,000 words behind max, which is really exciting because I though for sure I had lost NaNo, with that weekend I had, but now, even still behind, I feel like I’m back in the running), but like this is a post about other things.

I don’t know how many of you know this (probably no one), but for a really short period when I was little, I wanted to make comic books. I tried too, but I was terrible at drawing and I knew. I did used to take some graphic novels I had and practice drawing the eyes and everything (I’ve got soooo many sketchpads and scrap pieces of paper and homeworks with doodles like this on it). In college, I read the Hawkeye comics by Matt Fraction and David Aja (If you’d like to see me fangirl on them, please go HERE!). At the end of one of those issues it talked about the process of making a comic book. And that’s the day I found out you didn’t necessarily need to be able to draw in order to write a comic book. I mean, it is very helpful to be able to draw (especially when first starting out), but not necessary.

That was also the day I realized I still wanted to write comic books. Even if I couldn’t draw them out, I wanted to be involved in writing the script for comic books.

Yesterday, I realized I need to actually sit down, plot out, rough sketch, and actually write that first comic book (it won’t be pretty, but hey whateves right? Just need to do it). Which means, once NaNo’s over, I’m going to be taking a huge break from writing books and focus on writing that. (although, I honestly have a hard time staying away from my novels so don’t fret too much). This also means, I don’t know if I’ll get around to hardcore editing my NaNo novel until at least January, maybe even February (depends on how long I procrastinate it).

I don’t know what my comic book will be about yet. It’s highly likely gonna be about superheroes (because what else would it be about? Also, Marvel and Stan Lee have reached too hard into my soul for me to ever not write a superhero comic book – like seriously I want to work for marvel comics one day, whether as a writer or editor or that random person who takes out the trash (jk on this one)). I also have a superhero novel idea that I’ve had stewing on my laptop for like six months now, and every once in a while I come back to it. I’m not sure I want to turn it into a comic book though.

Speaking of which, I have several other novel ideas I want to work on once I have more time. Most of them are old story ideas that never got to live too long before I gave up on them. I went back and relooked at some of my stories and found some that actually have potential, so I want to plan them out (once upon a time I was totally pro-pantser, now I’m pro both (you need a certain amount of planning tbh)) and maybe write one or two of them in the next coming year. Or, I just might save one of them for next years NaNo lol, who knows.

I’m not sure how to end this, which is why it’s so long. It’s hard to decide what to say and when to stop saying things, so I don’t.

I feel like I should add somewhere that I studied abroad in the same city that Tom Holland is from. I doubt he was there when I was as it was the summer of 2016 and he was probably filming one thing or another.

Okay, I’m done. I’m ending this before I can ramble anymore.


With great power comes great responsibility


 

Leave a comment