NaNoWriMo Day 28

Okay, so I promised myself I wouldn’t make another blog post until I had reached my NaNo goal and was posting about how I had validated my word count and finally accomplished my dream and would probably never be able to work this hard on writing during NaNo ever again (Which is sad, but like it’s just how it’ll work out. I know it. It’s how it always works out. I get really…. I don’t wanna use the word depressed, but like that’s really the only way I can think to describe it because that’s what it is…. during November and this is the first year I haven’t consistently been either working or preparing for exams).

Anyway, I promised myself I wouldn’t do another post until after I validated, but like I need to worry about how I’ve fallen behind and I honestly don’t know if I can catch up in time, which is absolutely terrifying and sad. I’m almost three thousand words behind, and yeah I’ve caught up before when I was that far behind, but I had more time and I was definitely more motivated. Now, I just want my novel to be over. If I wasn’t less than ten thousand words away from winning, then I probably would just give up. But alas! I won’t. And I’m gonna try my hardest to catch up, no matter what.

I have very little faith in myself, but I believe in all of you, so if I just take a little of that belief and apply it to myself, I should be fine, right?

God, I hope so.

I’ve done NaNo eight year. EIGHT YEARS!!! The most I’ve written in those eight years is twenty five thousand words. It’s frustrating, giving it a go every year and barely making it halfway to the finish line. And then, the one year I make it so, so close, I may not even make it to the finish line.

All because I’m an idiot who needs sleep (although in my slight, but inexcusable defense: I did start a new job last week and it does require me to be on my feet for forever which I haven’t done in like forever and I just wanna sleep when I get home. Even now, as I write to you, I am half asleep and wondering if I’m putting to much stress on my ankle (Cat bite, lead to infection in my ankle which still hurts and…. you know what? That’s a story for another day)).

Okay, so now that we’ve gotten so far off topic I’m not even sure what we were talking about…. Let’s just move on.

How are all of your stories coming? I know I’ve asked before, but have any of you validated yet? Any of you close to validating? Any of you reach your personal word count goal? I guess my personal word count goal was just to write the most I’ve ever written for NaNo. Which technically I did. I reached that goal on day fifteen, so like I could’ve just stopped there. Instead I kept going. Instead, I wrote so much!

Wow, I’m proud of myself ☺️.

Also, I have lost my ability to care when a word is spelled wrong. I just spelled, spelled six different ways before I finally got it right. The grammar and writing part of my brain is dead. Clever descriptions just sound like shit now and anything I used to be able to spell correctly is done. I KEEP GETTING THERE, THEIR, and THEY’RE CONFUSED!!! It took me years to correct that and it’s been so long since I’ve gotten them confused and ugh. That’s just frustrating :/ AND, I feel like I’m just repeating the same things. Like not just scenes or phrases, but whole descriptions or like I think I describe too many things as quick and slow and fast and meander and stuff like that. You get my drift? I don’t even get my drift.

I need to change some things on my blog. It’s too fally. I need to add some winter things, don’t you think? Get rid of the leaves and what not?

So like, I’ve been trying to limit my distractions this month, ya know, so like I can write and stuff. But like, I don’t know if I told you this already, but Amazon randomly gave me five dollars to use on a kindle book. I wasn’t about to pass up a chance like that. My thought process was get five $.99 books, but I read the sample for this book, Netherfield Prep by Elizabeth Stevens, and the sample stops right as I had gotten into the story and needed to know more, so then I just had to buy it! It was $4.99, so technically I still have $.01 to use lol. But only for like another week lol.

Anyway, it was a long book, but it was pretty good. I read it ever night before bed and whenever I could get away with reading it. I think it took me three days to read and it was like five hundred pages. I lost concentration part way through, but I wanted to see how it ended, so I kept going. I was only disappointed because it ended sooner than I would’ve liked. Well, that’s not true. I would like a sequel tbh. Maybe slightly shorter so I don’t get distracted.

Also, I liked the characters, but sometimes the way they spoke was just too old fashioney. It’s modern day Pride and Prejudice, so like modern day words? The whole book wasn’t like that, it’s just some phrases I could never in a million years hear a teenager saying. Then again, the main character was Australian and it took place in the U.K. But still, you could tell the difference between their slang and phrases that were clearly intended to remind you that this was a reimagined Pride and Prejudice, you know?

Okay, when did this post turn into a book review post? We’re done with that. Look for actual book reviews later after NaNo ends. I need to catch up on my NetGalley reviews and maybe I’ll do this book in its own post too? Idk, we’ll see.

I FORGOT TO UPDATE MY STORY ON MONDAY!!!

I can’t believe I forgot to do that! Ugh, now that’s frustrating to remember. I had a schedule, I was to keep to the schedule, I did so good until this week. This week just has my brain all frazzled up, I guess. That’s the only thing I can think of.

Okay, see ya!!!

Leave a comment